Our History

The Northern Europe Central Conference

World War I weakened the connection between Europe and America, thus a substantial independence of Continental European Methodism from the Mother Church in the United States became necessary. In 1920, the General Conference decided to divide Europe into several Episcopal areas. The Northern Europe Episcopal Area, including Methodism in the Nordic Countries, was established and put under the supervisions of the Danish Bishop, Anton Bast. Though Methodism in the North European Countries was tied together historically, the new structure meant that the Church in that region, to an even greater extent, sought together and formed a fellowship in order to handle their new and greater independence.

In 1924, the North Europe Episcopal Area organized as a Central Conference, and the Baltic-Slavic Annual Conference became integrated.

The General Conference decided in 1992 to make Eurasia an independent Episcopal Area. The General Conference authorized the Northern Europe Central Conference, which had oversight for the Methodist organization during the former Soviet countries, to elect a bishop to carry out the work in the new area. With delegates present from the Russia United Methodist churches, the Central Conference of 1993 elected and appointed Rüdiger Minor as Bishop of Eurasia, with residence in Moscow. Methodism in Eurasia was organized 1996 as a provisional Annual Conference under the name, "Russia United Methodist Church", which was confirmed by the Central Conference in Pärnu in 1997.

In 2001 Eurasia became an Annual Conference with full rights. The new conference consisted in 70 clergy members and 81 local churches. In 2003 the United Methodist Church in Eurasia was divided into four conferences: The Central Russia Annual Conference contented 923 members, 39 clergies and 33 local churches.

The Northwest Russia Provisional Annual Conference contented 453 members, 21 clergies and 20 local churches. The South Russia-Ukraine-Moldava Provisional Annual Conference contented 759 members, 30 clergies and 30 local churches. The East Russia-Kazakhstan Provisional Annual Conference contented 416 members, 19 clergies and 14 local churches.

The Central Conference was, for the first time, held in Moscow in 2005. Ukrainewas now separated from the South Russia Provisional Annual Conference to form its own Ukraine and Moldova Provisional Annual Conference.

One Central Conference - Two Episcopal Areas

United Methodism in the Nordic and Baltic Countries, as well as Eurasia is organized within one Central Conference, which is called The Northern Europe & Eurasia Central Conference. The United Methodist Church within the Central Conference includes two Episcopal Areas:

The United Methodist Church, Nordic and Baltic Area
The United Methodist Church, Eurasia Area.